Wind power opponent’s barn burned down

“Denise Como is running for a seat on the Stark [N.Y.] Town Board. Her barn was burned to the ground last night. It was an empty horsebarn. No animals in it, no equipment.

“We arrived home from campaigning at about 9:30. Denise put her campaign signs out at about 10:30 last night. The dogs set up an alarm near midnight. She heard a truck in the driveway, but trucks often turn around in her driveway and she didn’t think anything of it. A few minutes later, all the dogs set up an alarm and wouldn’t quit. She looked out the door, and the barn was engulfed in flames. The firemen arrived promptly, but it was already lost. Somewhat later, they realized her campaign signs were gone. Presumably, they were either thrown in the fire or taken away. The metal standards may be found in the smoldering ashes, but the fire was very hot, and they may not be found. The fire is being treated as arson, and the state police are investigating.

“I have ten registered Morgan horses in my barn. The message is clear.

“My daughter wants me to withdraw from the election. I don’t think that will happen. I will probably start sleeping at the barn until after the election. Hmmm. Wonder how I’m going to keep this from Grandma!”

Comments are closed.